What are the types of digital signatures?

Importance of Digital Signature Certificate in Digital Era:
October 19, 2020

In this digital era, the use of digital signatures is significant as these signatures are used to show identification, protect a letter’s or document’s credibility, or make perfections to a document. Thus, it has several essential functions for everyone here. If something is so important, we must have detailed information to choose it according to our needs.

As you all know about a digital signature, do you know what its types are? If not, you want to know because that’s how you will select the right kind of your need.

Types of digital signature:

We have different types of digital signature, which are classified based on technology and their qualities of giving Authenticity, Identity, Integrity, and Authentication; which are:

1.Class 2 digital signature:

The class 2 digital signature certificates are issued for both business personnel, and private individuals use. These certificates confirm that the information in the application provided by the subscriber does not conflict with the information in well-recognized consumer databases. The primary use of Class 2 DSC is in

  • e-filing on MCA21 (for ROC)
  • online portals of Income Tax (IT eFiling)
  • IE Code registrations,
  • GST returns,
  • ePFO claims,
  • Registrar of Companies and VAT, etc.

2.  Class 3 digital signature

Class 3 Digital Signature Certificate is the upgraded version of the Class 2 Digital Signature Certificate. By using this certificate, you can participate in any online tenders across India. The Class 3 Digital Signature Certificates are a requirement for

  • E-tendering.
  • Patent and trademark e-filing.
  • MCA e-filing.
  • Customs e-filing.
  • E-procurement.
  • E-biding.
  • The E-auction, etc.

They are used primarily for e-Tendering applications. It brings transparency to the whole system and provides authenticity. The Indian licensing authority, like eMudhra, issues class 3 digital signatures.

3.  DGFT digital signature:

To sign any document digitally in the electronic format, a DGFT Digital Signature is required. It is also needed for the transactions made using a web browser on the portal or website of the Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT). It is mainly used by the

  • EXIM (Exporters & Importers) community registered with the DGFT (Directorate General of Foreign Trade) in India.

4. Foreigners DSC:

Citizens of different nations or their organizations and Indian nationals abroad can apply for a digital signature to securely transact in the country.

  • Digital Signature for Foreign Organization can be given to any representative who is residing in India.
  • DSC for foreign nationals can be given to approve Foreign nationals to conduct any online exchanges securely.
  • These certificates are easy to authenticate and validate the information. 

5. Document signer certificate:

The Document Signer Certificates are issued to organizational software applications to automatically authenticate documents attributed to the organization using Digital Signature applied to the document. So this all about the types of digital signatures. We hope after reading this, you can completely know about the types of digital signature. You can easily decide which type is suitable for you and will serve your professional work at best

1 Comment

  1. admin porno says:

    Remarkable! Its actually amazing piece of writing, I have got much clear idea on the topic of from this article. Gert Bevin Hagen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *